OSI III – [there will be] BLOOD

osi_bloodcoverFINALLY! Some great news. It seems that Kevin Moore and Jim Matheos have finished the third OSI masterpiece of progressive music. The album is called BLOOD and it will be released in Europe on 27 of April 2009 as a double cd; it is characterised as “atmospherically dense and aggressively demanding elements” (no wonder with Mikael’s participation). Tracklisting as follows:

Disc 1
01. The Escape Artist
02. Terminal
03. False Start
04. We Come Undone
05. Radiologue
06. Be The Hero
07. Microburst Alert
08. Stockholm
09. Blood

Disc 2
01. No Celebrations
02. Christian Brothers
03. Terminal (endless)

Source: FatesWarning News

Photo curtesy to InsideOut!

Spoiler – rumors say that on Blood (track) there is aspecial guest: Tim Bowness!!!! YAY!

Coma divine

I just got this new edition of Porcupine Tree’ s most acclaimed live performance to the date: Coma divine, recorded in Rome, during three live sesions in 1997. I thought that maybe someone could be interested to hear an opinion on the package. So here is mine: it is really a luxurious edition – it is a hard-back digi-book with an 8 page booklet [the paper 160 grams, it seems]. This edition is (c) and (p) in 2007, Kscope Music. The package is brand new, kscope 130. The recording is the July 2002 remasterd work. Worth every penny!

Dream Theater: Chaos in Motion Artwork

I just received the latest Dream Theater live album- Chaos in motion. I bought the special DELUXE collector`s edition, a brilliant 5-disc set, with 2 Video-DVD`s and 3 Audio-CD`s. It had taken quite a trip: from the United States to Germany then to Targu Mures in Romania and finally to me in Cluj-Napoca. A big thank you to Szabi and David. I was looking forward to see the package… and although I did not expected a lot, I was still very disappointed. This is progressive music so it should be presented as such. In progressive music the special editions are a must. And by that I mean really special editions. But the package and the design let me down … again. Okay, I am thankful for the jewelcase (the discs are not falling all over the place) but is that all? I mean this is a deluxe package: where is the booklet?? Where is ART?! Music is art and definately it should be presented in a great artwork. Becuase buying the work is not only supporting the artist but the record company also. And I am really not happy with what Roadrunner is making. Imagine what would a Special edition would look like for DT at InsideOut. Think of Transatlantic`s special edition “Live in Europe” or Century Media`s release Dark Genesis box set for Iced Earth! But the package design for CHAOS in Motion is really poor and eye-wise. It looks like an amateur`s work. I think also of The aniversary Score package: what a piece of sh|t fiasco that was! Anything but a real aniversary edition. Yuck! Anyway, I feel a bit sorry for not beeing able to get an Insurgents work of art.